Remember, in some areas Barramundi can get to 20kgs plus, and weak gear can set you back in … So I was wondering if it was a 'known' time for barra or just a lucky dip. When Barramundi fishing Weipa, there’s a range of techniques and lures that are very effective. You can catch them with lures or bait, from rivers, estuaries and lakes, from the shore or a boat, any time of day or night, although most people do agree that patience and persistence are the key. BARRAMUNDI FISHING WEIPA OUR BIG BEAUTIES . The Best spot for a chance to catch Barramundi in and around Darwin and the NT is the coastal creeks. Open 7 Days. Cairns, ... is famous for some of the best barramundi fishing in Australia. Hervey Bay is surrounded by many Islands, including the closest Island – Round Island, a short distance away – Woody Island and the great Fraser Island. I’m not an expert capable of writing a lengthy thesis on barramundi migration, but I’ve found the most reliable areas regardless of season are deeper areas in the transition zone between fresh and salt, maybe say 25 to 75 kilometres upstream from the ocean. Generally speaking, the best tides for lure and fly fishing for barra are the last half of the run-out and the first part of the run-in. Find the best spot to catch the "big one" with our list of the top fishing destinations in Australia. Find out the best time to fish in the Rockhampton Region. Whether they are on the line or on the plate, barra are just great. If you want some expert guidance you can get that. There’s still time to join the Million Dollar Fish competition and catch yourself a fortune. And I'll tell you where to find the Barra, and how to hook them, right here. The best bet is to pop in and ask either Ian or Adam who are the guys behind the counter at Tackle Land what is working at the time, colours don’t mean much but sometimes the fluoro green gets a few more looks than the others. Half tide out to half tide in is the best time to fish. 8. The 90mm model – al